With more than 1,000 book readings, symposia and lectures dedicated to books, Leipzig Book Fair has increasingly become the book trade’s main public attraction. Leipzig Book Fair is regarded not only as the book trade’s key event of the year, but also the opportunity for readers and bibliophiles.

While 66,000 visitors came to Leipzig in 2002, that figure had more than doubled by 2009. 153,000 visitors came to the new exhibition centre to find out about the new releases of more than 2,000 publishing houses from around 100 different countries.

The Antiquarian Book Fair was integrated into Leipzig Book Fair as early as 1995, which must have been the first time anywhere in the world that a fair dedicated to new books found space for antiquarian books, illustrations and autographs. Leipzig has now become a set date in the book-fair calendar with exhibitors benefiting more each year from the ever-growing numbers of visitors to the book fair.

The mile of literature "Literaturmeile“ of Leipzig Antiquarian Book Fair forges a link from its own spacious area to the busy world of Leipzig Book Fair and attracts visitors who are less familiar with the “world of rare books”. The Leipzig Antiquarian Book Fair catalogue is sent to known bibliophiles and institutes all over the world.

Mit weit mehr als 1.000 Lesungen, Symposien und Vorträgen, die zur Leipziger Buchmesse rund um das Thema Buch stattfinden, ist Leipzig zum Publikumsmagneten der Branche geworden. Diese Messe gilt nicht nur als ein Pflichttermin der Branche, sondern auch als die Messe der Leser und Bibliophilen

Kamen 2002 noch 66.000 Besucher nach Leipzig, hat sich diese Zahl 2009 bereits mehr als verdoppelt: 153.000 Menschen besuchten das neue Messegelände und konnten sich über die Neuerscheinungen von über 2.000 Verlagen aus ca. 100 Ländern informieren.

Die Antiquariatsmesse wurde bereits 1995 in die Buchmesse integriert - zum weltweit wohl ersten Mal fanden alte Bücher, Graphik und Autographen ihren Platz in einer Neubuchmesse. Seitdem ist Leipzig ein fester Bestandteil im alljährlichen Messekalender geworden, wobei die Aussteller jedes Jahr mehr von den wachsenden Besucherzahlen der Buchmesse profitieren.

Die "Literaturmeile der Leipziger Antiquariatsmesse" schlägt die Brücke vom großzügigen eigenen Areal zum Trubel der Buchmesse und spricht auch die Besucher an, die mit der "Welt des alten Buchs" bisher wenig vertraut waren. Der eigene Katalog hingegen wird weltweit an bekannte Bibliophile und Institutionen versandt.